Skip to content

Soba Noodles

09/20/2010

Here goes for the first recipe on the menu I posted.

It’s a bit scandalous to me that I never posted this recipe before. Anyone who eats with me with any kind of regularity has eaten my soba noodles at least once. Or heard me talk about them. It’s my go-to, don’t-feel-like-cooking-but-want-something-delicious-and-flavorful dish. It wasn’t always like that but now that I’ve made it at least once a week for the past… six months? it’s old hat.

I love everything about these soba noodles. It makes me feel like I’m eating in an Asian restaurant (my favorite indulgence) but gives me the pride of having cooked it myself. The peanuts and scallions give it the extra kick that finishes it off for me. The buckwheat noodles are also healthy and filling in ways that regular pasta is not, although I find it so addicting that I keep eating it past the “full” point and rarely end up with enough for lunch the next day if I am sharing the meal with a friend. It’s also a great dish for its versatility–I throw in vegetables (I chose broccoli here, but I also love it with eggplant and cauliflower), tofu, eggs, peanuts–so many staples can find a home in this bowl and round out the nutritional value. These qualities make it great for pot lucks, too, because they bring a wow-factor and worst case scenario you have yourself a meal you can be content with.

Soba Noodles
Serves three hungry people

1 package dried soba noodles
1 package extra firm tofu
1-2 eggs
1-2 broccoli crowns
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup tamari
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, peeled and shaved
1/8-1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne (depending on desired spiciness)
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 tablespoon mustard (optional)

handful of peanuts, chopped
1/2 cup scallions, chopped

While water is boiling for noodles, wrap tofu in paper towels and place under a pot or pan for at least ten minutes to remove excess liquid.

Cut tofu into desired shape (I prefer cubes or rectangular strips). In a hot pan, pour 1-2 tablespoons of oil. Lower heat to medium or medium-low and add tofu. Cook until each side is golden brown. Remove tofu from pan.

Add another tablespoon of oil to saute the broccoli. I like mine slightly browned. Remove from pan.

Scramble egg(s) and cook.

Add noodles to boiling water.

Prepare sauce by mixing the remaining ingredients (water through rice vinegar/mustard). Add spice based on personal preference (and of course the preference of whomever you are eating with). When noodles are tender, drain water and return to pot, adding tofu, broccoli, eggs, and sauce. Mix and serve, topped with chopped peanut and scallions.

—–

For the Asian salad, I went with one romaine heart, a handful of chopped scallions, 1/4 cup of tamari, 2 tablespoons rice vinegar, 1/4 cup oil, toasted sesame seeds, and sea salt. Nice and simple.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/20/2010 11:41 PM

    Well, it’s about time!

  2. Bara permalink
    10/05/2010 10:02 PM

    I’ve eaten it many, many times and would happily eat it many, many more!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

