Skip to content

Eggplant “burgers”

10/06/2009

Sometimes when I’m in the middle of a very emotional moment, when I hear about something tragic, the only thing I want to do is make a meal to share with my friends. That’s pretty much what happened last Tuesday night and even though I had a nasty cold, these eggplant burgers were just what we all needed. It has been pointed out to me that this recipe isn’t much of a burger recipe, unless burger is defined as something round/patty-shaped that you eat on a bun with a variety of toppings. But I kind of like calling it a burger.

Eggplant on the stoveI picked this recipe up from the Hyde Park Farmers’ Market this summer in Cincinnati and it’s taken me about two months to make it, but here we are. A lot of the ingredients–like the eggplant and the red peppers–can still be purchased at the farmers’ market (at least, I got my stuff at a New York Greenmarket). This recipe is delicious. The eggplant comes out tender and balsamic-y and the roasted red pepper provides a sweetness that cuts through the tang of the vinegar.

Eggplant burgerEggplant Burgers

2 tbs oil

2 tbs balsamic vinegar

1 tsp Dijon mustard

1/4 tsp salt and pepper, each

Whisk together in a small bowl

1 large eggplant

Cut crosswise into 1/4-inch slices to make 12-16 slices. Use salt to sweat the eggplant for 10 minutes. Brush with the oil mixture. Sauté in a pan until tender for 4-5 minutes per side.

2 tomatoes, thinly sliced

4 large pieces roasted red peppers

2 avocados

Fresh basil

Freshly ground pepper

To make my roasted red peppers, I just chopped them up, drizzled a little olive oil and sprinkled salt on them and stuck them in the oven at 350 for about half an hour. They were delicious! You can also put sliced provolone or Gouda on top and let it melt a bit.

4 crusty, whole wheat buns

Toast rolls and drizzle balsamic vinegar on the inside. Or brush the bread with olive oil, toast it, and rub a cut clove of garlic over the toasted side. Add the vegetable stacks and serve immediately. It also makes great leftovers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/07/2010 4:22 PM

    I’ve just found your blog and as a vegetarian I am so glad. You have some lovely seasonal recipes here.

    I’ve only eaten aubergine once in a burger bun, it was spiked with garlic. This looks really good too.

    • orangeideal permalink
      01/07/2010 5:53 PM

      So glad you like it! I really am obsessed with this recipe, too.

Trackbacks

  1. Trying new foods: a tale of Squash and Brussel Sprouts « orange ideal
  2. Roasted Eggplant Salad « orange ideal

Leave a Reply

