Skip to content

Pumpkin Chocolate Chunk Squares

10/23/2009

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Square cooling on the rack

Now that October has firmly established itself and the temperature has been dancing between summer and winter, fall has managed to find its way into my apartment. Our “living room” is populated by two giant pumpkins, some gourds, and a few still-muddy butternut squashes. So it’s only natural that fall recipes should start popping up in my life.

Batter

Several weeks ago my roommate hosted a meal and someone brought some kind of pumpkin chocolate chip cake. Once the meal was over, we attacked the leftovers of that delicious dessert. Pumpkin desserts began popping up everywhere I looked and when I saw it on Slow Like Honey I knew it was time for me to jump on board. The recipe from Slow Like Honey is Martha Stewarts‘ version, which I tweaked ever so slightly.  As I’ve previously mentioned, I love playing with whole wheat in sweet treats, so instead of doing two cups of all-purpose flour, I used 1/2 a cup of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (I don’t really see a reason to use white flour). Also, Martha’s recipe calls for pumpkin pie spice, but since I didn’t have any of that I used a mixture of cinnamon and nutmeg. Finally, for some reason I decided the recipe called for dark chocolate, when it in fact calls for bittersweet, but hey, who’s keeping score?

Chocolate

Pumpkin Chocolate Chunk Squares Recipe

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

½ cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda

¾ tsp salt

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 ¼ cups sugar

1 large egg

1 ½ tsp vanilla extract

1 cup canned pumpkin puree

7 oz dark chocolate, finely chopped

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9-by-13-inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, mix together flours, spices, baking soda, and salt.

Use an electric mixer and separate bowl to cream butter and sugar on medium speed until it is smooth. Beat in the egg and vanilla until it is well mixed. Add the pumpkin puree, reduce speed to low, and mix in the dry ingredients until just combined. Fold in the chocolate.

Spread batter evenly into the pan. Bake until the edges begin to pull away from the sides of the pan and a toothpick or fork inserted into the center comes out with just a few moist crumbs attached, 30 to 35 minutes. Cool completely in the pan.

Remove from pan, cut into squares, and serve!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/24/2009 7:09 PM

    Pumpkin is by far my favorite part of this season. Once November hits, I go crazy on the pumpkin-flavored stuff. Love it.

    Pumpkin Pie, Pumpkin Spiced Donuts (in my deep fryer – mmm!), and yes, I put a little bit of pumpkin pie spice in my Doppelbock currently brewing in my closet. [BTW, I have Pumpkin Pie Spice if you need to borrow in the future.]

    -Nathan

  2. 10/27/2009 9:26 AM

    I LOVE PUMPKIN. ..especially, pumpkin fudge ice cream (from Bischoff’s in Teaneck)!

    I will surely miss pumpkin and all of fall this year 😦

    Hope all is well.

    AYS

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin, Pecan, White Chocolate Chunk OMG amazing Waffles « Mah Zeh Taim! How Delish!

Leave a Reply

