Skip to content

Zucchini bread

11/24/2009

My roommate is an intern for Faithhouse Manhattan, an experiential interfaith community. Tomorrow night they are having an interfaith pre-Thanksgiving Thanksgiving dinner. In an effort to contribute to the meal, she decided to bring some loaves of zucchini bread. Don’t be alarmed by the massive quantities in the pictures–since this is for a large meal, we doubled the recipe. The recipe I have listed below makes about two loaves.

This zucchini recipe is a staple of mine. Growing up, we had a vegetable garden in our backyard that produced more zucchinis than we could ever eat–and they were huge. In fact, I don’t remember ever actually eating the zucchini–we almost always baked it into bread. And then when we discovered that we could grate the zucchini and then freeze it for use later in the year, there was even more zucchini bread to be had. By the time I got to high school, zucchini bread was the one thing I actually enjoyed making–it’s easy and it let’s you create a mental fiction that it’s healthy.

As I’ve mentioned before, I love sneaking whole wheat into my baking. This zucchini bread is where I first started trying that out and it holds it up so well. At this point, I have made it with 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat and 1/2 cup of unbleached all purpose flour. It still came out moist and delicious. Some of my veteran taste testers thought this batch was actually one of the best. But for now, I usually stick to half and half.

I hope you enjoy the recipe. Happy Thanksgiving!

Zucchini Bread

Adapted from the Silver Palate

3 eggs
1 1/4 cups oil
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups grated unpeeled raw zucchini
1 cup unbleached, all – purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 tsp. ground cloves
1 cup shelled walnuts chopped
Raisins (sometimes instead of raisins and walnuts, I do chocolate chips…depends on the crowd)

1. Preheat oven to 350.  Butter or spray a 9 x 5 Loaf pan
2. beat eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla until light and thick.  Fold grated zucchini into oil mixture.
3. Sift dry ingredients together. Stir into zucchini mixture until just blended.  Fold in walnuts and raisins (or chocolate chips).
4.Pour batter into the loaf pans.  Bake on middle rack of the oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes or until cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.
5. Cool slightly, remove from pans, and cool completely on a rack.

For best flavor, wrap the breads when cool and let stand overnight before serving.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. stacy roth permalink
    12/19/2009 12:40 PM

    I was re- reading part of your blog today as I didn’t have time to finish it the other day.
    I came across this website you might enjoy.
    I am looking forward to trying your zucchini bread!!

    http://www.joyofbaking.com/index.html

    • orangeideal permalink
      01/01/2010 8:46 PM

      Thanks for the recommendation… I’ll be sure to check it out.

Leave a Reply

