Skip to content

Greek Tofu

02/03/2010

It’s been a while since my last post. I feel like I am confessing some big secret, but clearly you know I haven’t posted in a while. I got an internship this semester. I love it, but it gives me less time to work on this blog. I actually really love it and talk about it almost constantly. So are you ready? I am interning at the Nourishing Kitchen of New York City. It’s a non profit community food program that provides nutritious meals, culinary arts vocational classes for teenagers, nutrition classes for seniors, and a community garden/urban produce program in East Harlem. It’s pretty much everything I love and care about. And there is so much to do that I find myself working on my projects even when I am not there. I’m just really excited. And if these projects sound appealing to you, let me know, because we can definitely use all the help we can get!

But despite my love for my new job, I can’t neglect the blog. Last week a friend charged me to make a tofu dish with olives. The meal was in celebration of Tu B’shvat, the Jewish New Year of the Trees. It’s also a holiday where we celebrate the unique produce of Israel, the seven species. One of which is the olive. At first I found this to be unappealing. I tend toward asian-style tofu preparations usually involving the use of tamari and ginger. So this was different for me. So last time I posted about a Thai-inspired dish. This time, I took my cue from Greece.

This tofu is light. Lemony. Salty. It tastes simple, but clean. It’s definitely not for everyone. Some people ate just the tofu or just the olives. Personally, I think it reaches its full potential if you eat it with olives and capers and tofu all in one bite. It gives it a bit more complexity to the flavor.

Greek-Inspired Tofu

1-2 packages extra firm tofu
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1/4 cup water
lemon zest
juice of 1/2 lemon
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 sprig rosemary
1 small jar Greek olives and juices
2 tbs. olive oil
2-3 tbs. capers

Press and drain tofu. Mix vinegar, water, lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic, and rosemary. Pour into a bowl or pot with the tofu (cut in slices). Add the juice from a jar of olives. Marinate for 30 minutes to an hour, turning the tofu every once in a while.

Heat a skillet with olive oil. Place tofu (without marinade) into pan. Cook on each side until golden brown. Pour in liquid. While the juices cook down, add in the olives and capers. When the liquid is cooked away, turn off the stove. Remove tofu from heat and let it sit for five minutes before serving.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kruleintentions permalink
    02/04/2010 12:18 AM

    um. why is there no mention of where this dish was served?

Trackbacks

  1. You can’t go wrong with red lentils « Krule Intentions

Leave a Reply

