Skip to content

Garlic Fried Rice

02/17/2010

I hate winters when it doesn’t snow. It is so frustrating to battle through cold and wind and gray without the breathtaking beauty and calm of a good snowfall. Having said that, snow can be downright annoying. Living in Manhattan, walking is a significant element of my day and battling snow on my cross-town walk is not a fun way to start the day. Especially because my window faces an alley so when it is snowing, I never know it. (And yes, I do check the weather, but a graphic with snow under clouds doesn’t indicate the intensity.) And of course there are the travel complications. I guess we take travel for granted, because in truth we can go anywhere we want, whenever we want to. However I wasn’t in the mood to learn that lesson this weekend when I was trying to make it to Dallas for my best friend’s wedding and two of my flights were canceled, resulting in me getting in two full days after I had hoped. (The good news is that I got there and the wedding was wonderful and she is now married.)

Anyway, cooking. The leek kick continues. Making this recipe was really just a case of me having exactly the right ingredients in the fridge when I read it, but if I wasn’t on the leek kick, I wouldn’t have had the leeks that are so key to this meal. This recipe is great because it doesn’t get greasy, the brown rice gives the dish a nutty flavor, and the sesame oil gives it much more depth.

Ginger Fried Rice
Adapted from The Smitten Kitchen

Serves 4

1/8 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons minced garlic
Salt
2 cups thinly sliced leeks, white and light green parts only, rinsed and dried
4 cups cooked brown rice
4 large eggs
2 teaspoons sesame oil

4 teaspoons soy sauce

In a large skillet, heat 2-3 tablespoons oil over medium heat. Add garlic cook, stirring occasionally, until crisp and brown. With a slotted spoon, transfer to paper towels and salt lightly.

Reduce heat under skillet to medium-low and add 2 tablespoons oil and leeks. Cook about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until very tender but not browned. Season lightly with salt.

Raise heat to medium and add rice. Cook, stirring well, until heated through and slightly crispy. Season to taste with salt.

In a nonstick skillet (it just makes it easier) fry eggs in remaining oil, sunny-side-up, until edges are set but yolk is still runny.

Divide rice among four dishes. Top each with an egg and drizzle with 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil and 1 teaspoon soy sauce. Sprinkle crisped garlic over everything and serve.

Vegetarian Fried Rice on Foodista

3 Comments leave one →
  1. suzette permalink
    02/17/2010 9:31 PM

    Yum….sounds delicious and easy!

  2. Chanel permalink
    02/18/2010 4:22 PM

    hey, rice. i want to eat you NOW.

Trackbacks

  1. Roasted Eggplant Salad « orange ideal

Leave a Reply

