Skip to content

Corn waffles with Tomato Salsa

03/16/2010

This week’s post was written by my friend Jen (the one who recently got married). Contrary to what she says below, she got really excited about a cranberry bean soup she made in October and was going to post about that, then she was going to post about a spinach and artichoke pasta she made in November… these recipes don’t sound familiar to you? That’s because those posts never happened. But lucky for all of us, she’s here this week to tell us about a savory twist on waffles.

You know those recipes that you keep coming back to in cookbooks, but never actually make? Well that’s what corn waffles with tomato salsa (from Jennifer Darling’s Fresh and Simple Vegetable Dinners) has been for me. But I was missing one essential element: the waffle iron. Well, as soon as I added it to the registry, and the minute it arrived on my doorstep (well, I don’t really have one of those…more likely the minute the doorman signed for it) I knew exactly what was for dinner!

Not to mention the fact that I’ve been promising (without fulfilling those promises) Jessica for weeks…or months…that I was going to “guest blog”… so here I am, trying my hand at the food blog world.

My husband was skeptical of the savory waffle, but he, along with our guests, considered them a roaring success!

Salsa

6 plum tomatoes (They looked yucky when I was in the store, so I used vine tomatoes instead)
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 15-oz. can black beans; drained & rinsed
2/3 cup frozen corn (would be equally if not more delicious with fresh corn if it’s in season)
1/3 cup sliced green onions (I used scallions + ¼ cup chopped white onion)
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (could also be parsley)
2 tablespoons lime juice
2 serrano peppers, chopped (1 if you’re squeamish about spiciness)
¼ teaspoon salt

Brush tomato halves with 1 teaspoon of the olive oil; place on the unheated rack of a broiler pan. Broil 4 to 5 inches from the heat for 8 to 10 minutes or until tomatoes begin to char, turning once. Remove from broiler pan and cool slightly; peel and coarsely chop.

(Since it’s winter, my tomatoes tended to be on the juicier, mushier side, so once I roasted them, they sort of turned to crushed tomatoes…different texture, but still delicious!).

While they’re roasting, chop up the onion and pepper.  I really, highly, totally, recommend wearing gloves while chopping up the serranos. I had papercuts that I didn’t even know about that have been killing me since I made the waffles hours and hours ago!

Combine the remaining 1 teaspoon olive oil, beans, onions, cilantro, lime juice (shout out to Mrs. Fisher for the Nicaraguan juicer!), Serrano pepper, and salt. Stir in tomatoes and any juices. Refrigerate.

Waffles – Makes 3 Belgian Style (Can be a corn muffin mix, but I had trouble finding a kosher one. I know my preservative-hating friend Jessica likes it this way better, anyways.)

1 ½ cups skim milk
1 cup yellow cornmeal
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 large egg
1 cup all purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar
3 ¼ teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
¼  teaspoon baking soda
1 cup frozen corn

Whisk together milk, cornmeal, oil, egg white.

In a separate bowl whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda, salt and baking soda.

Stir the cornmeal mix into the dry ingredients until moistened.

If it seems thick, add extra milk.

Follow the instructions for your waffle iron.  Most require about ¾ – 1 cup of batter. Make sure you oil the plates so it won’t stick.

Finishing it up…

Plate the waffles by adding a heaping spoonful of the salsa, a couple slices of avocado, a dallop of sour cream, and a sprig of cilantro.

I served a cheese platter and a veggie platter as side dishes. What a delicious meal and a totally new twist on Belgian waffles! Have them with a cocktail (margaritas, anyone?) and don’t forget something sweet for dessert (after all, savory dinners need sweet desserts!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzette permalink
    03/16/2010 7:35 PM

    Great Job Jen! The dish looks delicious and you did a wonderful job as guest blogger.

  2. 03/16/2010 8:57 PM

    Oh wow Jen, that looks so delish!!

  3. Jen permalink
    03/17/2010 7:28 PM

    I just noticed that there is another recipe for corn waffle mix in the instruction book…next time!

    2 packages corn muffin mix
    2 eggs
    14 cup vegetable oil
    2 Tbsp. honey
    1 1/2 cups milk
    1 can whole kernel corn, drained
    2 cans chopped green chilis, drained
    2 cups grated cheese
    1/2 tsp cayenne

Trackbacks

  1. Nine Days of Dairy « Mah Zeh Taim! How Delish!

Leave a Reply

