Skip to content

Passover Macaroons

04/01/2010

These are actually delicious. Please keep reading!

I promised a friend (he blogs over here) that I would post a Passover recipe. I realize we’re now half-way through the holiday, but I figured after the first few days, people are already sick of their own tried-and-true dessert recipes, so here’s my family’s go-to sweet, Passover munchie!

There are few things that Manischewitz does well. Matzah ball mix, matzah meal, tam tams… that’s about all I can think of, actually. They definitely don’t do wine well, their matzah is mediocre. Over the past several days we have come to the conclusion that the cereals are just getting worse by the year. But the worst product on the line? Macaroons. I hate them. Actually, to be fair to Manischewitz, I hate all macaroons (with the exception of the one I am about to share). This is particularly unfortunate because I have recently been alerted that cupcakes are out and macaroons are in! (Apparently we can thank Gossip Girls for that?) That switch is just something I can’t understand–cupcakes are amazing, macaroons are not. (For more about this, NPR has an article on their Web site.)

So I don’t like macaroons, but I am posting about them here. I think that should suggest that these are exceptional. Further proof: I can’t stand coconut. I like to think of myself as having a relatively sophisticated, open palate. But there are certain foods that I don’t let enter my body–asparagus, raw broccoli, mushrooms (although I am getting better!), and coconut. A quick look at the recipe below will tell you that coconut is in fact the main ingredient of this recipe. And yet, I love it! So doubters, fear not and read onward.

As a final promotion of this Passover treat, the recipe came to my family from my incredible preschool teacher. And she would never steer me (or anyone) wrong.

Now that I’ve convinced you to stick around until the recipe… these macaroons are amazing because they are moist, chewy, and sweet, but it’s balanced out by the walnut. They taste fresh where other kosher for Passover desserts taste stale. They are gooey and sticky and messy. Their success lies in the fact that there is nothing “Passover” about them. And really, I would eat these year round.

Mary Lee’s Passover Macaroons
Makes about 3-4 dozen

10 ounces shredded coconut
1 1/2 cups chopped dates
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
3-4 eggs

Mix all ingredients, except eggs, in a bowl.

Beat eggs well. Add to mixture. You may add one additional egg if needed, but don’t let the mixture get too sticky.

Drop by rounded teaspoons onto a greased cookie sheet (don’t use wax paper). Personally, I use my hands here–sometimes, you just have to get ’em dirty! Make sure not to put too much coconut. You may also find that you want to add extra dates.

Bake at 350º for 12-15 minutes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bara permalink
    04/02/2010 12:22 AM

    They really are excellent! I will be baking some tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

