Skip to content

Bruschetta with Leek and Goat Cheese

04/30/2010

Don’t you just love getting inspired? When all of the pieces collide at just the right moment and you really do just want to shout “Aha!” because now you know exactly what you want to do?

I’ve been in a bit of a food funk lately. Nothing seems appetizing. Except any variety of Thai noodles–that will never be unappetizing for me! So when Whipped came up in my Google Reader with a recipe for Leek and Brie Bruschetta and it latched on to my mind, I knew I had to make a bruschetta of my own. And what’s even better? I had just enough goat cheese left over to use it for this recipe (I’ve never been a huge brie fan anyway).

The crunchy bread is a perfect compliment to the creamy consistency of both the cheese and the sauteed leek. Plus, look how photogenic it is! I couldn’t wait to get these guys out of the oven.

Bruschetta with Leek and Goat Cheese

2 Tbs olive oil
2 medium leeks, white and light green parts, chopped
1 tsp. dried thyme
Sliced crusty bread of choice
4-6 ounces chevre goat cheese

Pour olive oil into a heated skillet. When the oil is hot, add leeks, thyme, and salt and pepper to taste. Stir until leeks are tender and just browned, about fifteen minutes.

Heat the broiler and arrange the bread slices on a baking sheet. Spread cheese on each slice and place leeks on top. Add more salt and pepper as desired.

Broil until bread is toasted, about seven to ten minutes. Best if served immediately.

Leave a Reply

