Skip to content

In My Pantry

08/31/2010

Recently, several people have asked me how they can start cooking. Whether they feel like they should be cooking more or are starting off in their own kitchens for the first time, initiating that kind of routine is a daunting task. So with a little bit of brain storming, I’ve decided to start a mini project for this blog to help people get in their kitchens and get cooking!

To kick things off, I’ve created a new tab– “In My Pantry.” There, you can find a list of foods and ingredients I always have in my kitchen. With these staples, there is always a dish you can whip together in a moment of crisis or when you don’t feel like going to the grocery store. Seriously, in the worst case scenario–rolled oats, brown sugar, and cinnamon–what more do you need?

Next, I will be posting a week’s worth of recipes and a grocery list. One of the most difficult things about cooking is keeping your kitchen stocked with the right ingredients and making sure you use what you buy. It’s also tough to organize yourself so that you only have to go to shopping once or twice in a week (mostly to get fresh produce). In general, my grocery lists look more or less the same since I tend to make variations with the same ingredients. Having said that, each week there are things that get added on and others that get taken off, based on what I think I’ll be making.

If you have any questions or things you’re curious about, e-mail me at orangeidealblog (at) gmail.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

